Writing love letters to God

Writers are like Cupids of the English language. We find two words, say hey you guys should meet, and hitch them together in a sentence. This matchmaking is an art all its own.

But nobody can write like God himself. I usually write my conversations with Him down because I’m a forgetful girl and I like to return to my journal over and over to see what Amy of the past has conquered. 

Re-reading through prayers this summer reminded me of God’s sweetness. He is so gentle and loving, and the more I poured over his words to me, the more compelled I felt to share them.

So this is the first of a series of blog posts dedicated to love letters between God and I.

April 21st

Amy, I will fiercely protect you all the days of your life.

I am the keeper of your heart and I will not let you go to just anybody.

I am your redeemer and your salvation.

I belong to you just as you belong to me. I. Love. You. Dearly.

When your soul feels weary or restless, look upon my cross and find your peace at the foot of my immense love for you. When your knees meet the ground and you pour out your heart to me, I am most delighted in you. Keep me by your side, talk to me as you go through each day, and realize that I am constantly working all things together for your good. Allow me to be at the forefront of your mind and all your troubled thoughts will become mine. I am strong enough to carry the weight of this world on my shoulders but you are not. Don’t take on too much.

I am here and I am your champion. Walk humbly with me today but walk boldly too, believing I am Yahweh who will defend you to the end. Beloved I am here.

-Jesus.

4 thoughts on “Writing love letters to God

    1. Oh good, I’m so glad to hear that! I’m definitely planning on posting more prayers in the future – because I think God speaks powerfully during those times when we pause to seek out his voice. Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

